Our Position on Common Core

Common Core Learning Standards

Faith Heritage Position Statement

Faith Heritage has and will always deliver a curriculum where Scripture is at the center.  Our curriculum is a tool that teachers use to prepare our students to excel in PreK through 12 and college academics.  Our curriculum is a plan for instruction and assessment that helps to deliver content in an engaging and relevant manner while developing a biblical worldview in the hearts and minds of students so that they can understand and interpret their world through the lens of God’s unchanging truth.  Teachers within each content area review and update their curriculum on a regularly scheduled cycle.  In that review, New York State Learning Standards have been taken into consideration to set minimum standards.  Standards are an agreed upon list of skills and concepts that should be mastered at each grade level.  This year, NYS has adopted the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) so that 85% of the standards are from the Common Core State Standards and 15% are added by the New York State Education Department, together constituting what are being called the NYS P-12 Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS).  The Standards themselves do not prescribe how a skill or concept should be taught, instead it is the Faith Heritage Curriculum that will determine which standards will be taught and how they will be taught and assessed. 

Faith Heritage will use the NYS P-12 CCLS, as we have in the past with previous NYSLS (New York State Learning Standards), as one tool for determining minimum standards at each grade level while at all times keeping Scripture at the center, academic excellence as a requisite, and our core values as our guide.

FHS Position & Background

ACSI Position on Common Core